Community BMP: ออกแบบชุมชน และผลที่แปลกใหม่

In spring 2012, I had a chance to design for the Best Management Practice (BMP) for my community in Athens, GA as a part of a class. BMP is a stormwater management strategy that tries to mitigate the effects of urbanization on water cycle. Here is my journal at the time, written at Mar 9th 2012.

ช่วงฤดูใบไม้ผลิของปีที่แล้ว ผมได้มีโอกาสออกแบบเพื่อจัดการน้ำในชุมชนที่ผมอาศัยอยู่เองที่เอเธนส์ มลรัฐจอร์เจีย สหรัฐครับ จุดประสงค์ของการออกแบบคือพยายามสร้างพื้นที่เพื่อรองรับและทำความสะอาดน้ำจากชุมชนเมือง นี่คือบันทึกของผมที่เขียนไว้เมื่อ 9 มีนาคม 2555

I-A-2-a

It was a mixed feeling designing for your own community, and I had to put a lot of thoughts about it. It was fun and interesting to see what others think. It was tough to understand and to comply with the need from different groups. And it was unimaginable to create a site analysis because things always changes.

มันเป็นความรู้สึกปนเปพอสมควรที่จะออกแบบเพื่อชุมชนที่คุณอาศัยอยู่ และผมต้องพยายามคิดอย่างถี่ถ้วนที่สุดเท่าที่จะทำได้ แน่นอนว่าการออกแบบนั้นสนุก และการสัมภาษณ์ชุมชนก็ทำได้ไม่ยากเลย แต่เมื่อคนที่เรารู้จักและสนิทสนมมีความต้องการต่างๆ กันออกไป มันก็ยากที่จะทำให้ทุกคนพอใจได้ แถมยังไม่พอ พอรู้ว่าเราจะออกแบบ การวิเคราะห์พื้นที่ก็เป็นไปไม่ได้เลย เพราะพื้นที่นั้นจะถูกเปลี่ยนแปลงไปตลอดเวลา

When I selected to create a Best Management Practice for Tanyard Creek Community Garden area, I thought it was going to be an easy job. The place was practically my backyard. I was there once in a while, looking down the stream, picking the overly ripe tomatoes to use for omelet, and dragging the protesting cats back home. I did not think of it much. After all, it was just a thickly weeded area that nobody cared about.

เมื่อผมได้รับมอบหมายให้ออกแบบการจัดการน้ำในชุมชนสวนคลองแทนยาร์ด ซึ่งเป็นชุมชนศิลปินรายได้ต่ำ ผมคิดว่ามันเป็นเรื่องง่ายๆ บ้านของผมอยู่ติดกับลำคลอง และผมก็ไปที่คลองเป็นประจำเพื่อมองสายน้ำ เด็ดมะเขือที่ไม่มีใครกินไปทำกับข้าว แล้วก็ลากแมวผมกลับบ้านก่อนค่ำ ผมไม่ได้คิดอะไรกับมันมากมายนัก เพราะพื้นที่ตรงนั้นเต็มไปด้วยวัชพืช การเปลี่ยนแปลงอะไรก็คงไม่ทำให้คนรู้สึกอะไรหรอก

Oh, how much I was wrong.

แต่ผมผิดไปถนัด

380749_10150642356939150_1514975131_n

Once I told someone that I was assigned to design the space, and it was my backyard, different reaction burst out of people’s expression. A surprise that I lived there (you live in that rundown/ awesome/ hipstrous place!?) was one of them. (I was studying at the University of Georgia and employed at Department of Community Affairs. I looked head-to-toe corporate at the time because of my job.)The ones that were rarer were, “oh, yes I know of that tiny stream. It was pretty important”.

เมื่อผมบอกเพื่อนร่วมงานและชาวบ้านว่าผมจะได้ออกแบบที่นี่ และมันเป็นชุมชนของผมเอง ทุกคนตอบสนองออกมาต่างๆ กัน บางคนก็สงสัยว่า ผมอาศัยอยู่ที่ที่ (รกร้าง/สุดยอด/เต็มไปด้วยฮิปปี้) เช่นนั้นได้อย่างไร (ขณะนั้นผมศึกษาอยู่ที่มหาวิทยาลัยแห่งมลรัฐจอร์เจีย และทำงานออกแบบกับกรมพัฒนาชุมชน ผมจึงต้องแต่งตัวเรียบร้อยเหมือนนักธุรกิจตลอดเวลา ซึ่งไม่เข้ากับบ้านและเพื่อนร่วมบ้านศิลปินเอาเสียเลย) และบางคน ซึ่งน้อยคนกว่า ก็รู้และเข้าใจความสำคัญของพื้นที่นี้

People in Community Studio from College of Environmental Design knew it. My current advisor sent me a detailed report of what I was supposed to be doing. Campus stream engineers turned their heads as I mentioned one of the daylighting locations of Tanyard Creek. There were so many inputs, and they were all good, useful, eager to see the change happening.

เพื่อนร่วมชั้นของผมจากคณะการออกแบบและสิ่งแวดล้อมเป็นกลุ่มหนึ่งที่เข้าใจความสำคัญของพื้นที่ต้นน้ำแห่งนี้ อ. ที่ปรึกษาของผมส่งรายงานการวิจัยน้ำและข้อมูลของชุมชนมาให้ วิศวกรโยธาและสิ่งแวดล้อมของมหาวิทยาลัยก็หันมาให้ความสนใจ ผมได้รับข้อมูลมากมาย และหลายคนก็มีความสนใจในพื้นที่ตรงนี้

The most amazing things that happened came from people in my own community: the one who lived at Ben’s Bikes, who saw all the changes CED has done, saw all the people who had come and use the space, and heard how people would like to use it. I talked to one of our residence about the history of the space, and that the University of Georgia wanted to redesign it. He responded well, almost overly excited.

แต่ที่น่ามหัศจรรย์ก็คือคนจากชุมชนของผมเอง คนที่อาศัยอยู่ในบ้านของผม ที่เรียกว่า Ben’s Bikes เพราะพวกเขาเห็นทุกอย่างที่ทางมหาวิทยาลัยและชุมชนกระทำกับต้นน้ำ เมื่อผมบอกกับหนึ่งในเพื่อนร่วมบ้านว่า ทางมหาวิยาลัยอยากจะพัฒนาพื้นที่ให้ดีต่อชุมชนและสิ่งแวดล้อม เขาก็ตื่นเต้นมาก

And once I came back from the Clayton County Constructed Wetland fieldtrip, I was greeted by surprise.

และเมื่อผมกลับมาจากการออกพื้นที่ในวันหนึ่ง ผมก็ต้องแปลกใจ

II-B-1-b

The invasive species were hacked away. The stream bank that was too steep to climb now was lined with stones. The giant, firm log lied across the stream, reaching its trunk to the other end of the stream to create access. The community even put the railing for people who had a clumsier physique like me. They cut down other logs from a clearing site to make seats, and they created a fire pit. Once I arrived, they were roasting sweet potatoes, appreciated the full moon hanging above the sky. Being the usual hipstrous crowd I appreciated.

พืชรุกรานถูกถางทิ้งจนสะอาด เหลือแต่พืชท้องถิ่น ทางลงคลองที่เคยชันจนต้องกระโดดลง บัดนี้มีหินวางรายเป็นบันได ไม้ซุงที่เคยนอนไม่รู้อิโหน่อิเหน่จากต้นโอ๊กที่ตายแล้ว ถูกลากด้วยชุมชน กลายเป็นสะพานข้ามคลองที่มีราวจับ และไม้ที่เหลือได้ถูกเลื่อยกลายเป็นที่นั่งริมฝั่งน้ำ เขายังถางพื้นที่รกชัฏเพื่อเป็นที่นั่งรอบกองไฟ ในตอนที่ผมไปถึงนั้น เขากำลังเผามันอยู่ใต้แสงจันทร์ ทำตัวเป็นศิลปินแบบที่ผมรักหนักหนาเลยทีเดียว

I was offered a seat and a beer, and we talked about what they had done while I was gone. They started in the morning and worked their way through the entire afternoon, expanding and creating their own new design for a community garden and social space without paying more than gas money to transport materials. It magically appeared in less than twenty four hour, and the result was miraculous.

ผมได้รับเชิญให้นั่งและร่วมสังสรรค์ และเขาเล่าให้ผมฟังว่าเขาได้ทำอะไรบ้างในช่วงที่ผมไม่อยู่ พวกเขาเริ่มงานกันเช้าวันนั้นเอง และทำงานกันตลอดวัน ด้วยเงินน้อยนิดและแรงงานที่หาได้ สวนชุมชนคลองแทนยาร์ดปรากฏในเวลาไม่ทันข้ามวันอย่างน่ามหัศจรรย์

However, it became a pressure on me. The community had done an excellent job, but they had no resolution on stormwater management. I did not want to change anything in the design. I lived in it and I loved everything of it. However, I knew that changing the water quality might be better because I had the data in hand. The pets were drinking from the creek. I did not want any of them to get sick, at least in the future.

แต่ว่าผมยังไม่ได้ทำอะไรเลย ชุมชนได้ทำหน้าที่ของเขาอย่างดีที่สุดแล้ว และผมชอบในงานออกแบบอย่างที่เขาทำ แต่มันยังไม่ได้จัดการน้ำ และผมก็รู้ว่ามันเป็นเรื่องจำเป็น น้ำที่เขารดน้ำผักผลไม้มาจากคลอง และสัตว์เลี้ยงของพวกเรา รวมถึงนกและสัตว์อื่นๆ ก็ดื่มน้ำจากคลองนั้น ผมต้องทำหน้าที่ในส่วนของผม

The question of my design had to turn around, from ‘how much I can change’ to, ‘how little I can change to make BMP work.’ It was surprisingly difficult, but I had to do as little as possible to change anything the hard work of the community had created.

คำถามในการออกแบบของผมเปลี่ยนไปทันที จาก “ผมจะเปลี่ยนที่นี่ได้มากเท่าไหร่” เป็น “ผมจะเปลี่ยนที่นี่ยังไงให้น้อยที่สุด” มันเป็นเรื่องยากมากที่จะเพิ่มสิ่งใหม่มาขณะที่รักษาสิ่งเดิมไว้

PlantingPlan

I came up with the minimum design I was proud of and I learned a good lesson taking two roles in this assignment. The designers always wanted change. They come to the space in the mindset that they will have to ‘fix it,’ and so they saw flaws in the site. The residence, in the other hand, mostly want to keep what is available. They know what they want, they see opportunities, and they want to make the change on their own without the influence of the outsider. In every community project in the future, I have to keep this thought in mind.

ผมได้ออกแบบการออกแบบที่น้อยที่สุด และส่งแปลนให้ทางภาครัฐอย่างภูมิใจ ผมได้เรียนรู้สองบทเรียนกับการออกแบบครั้งนี้ นักออกแบบจากภายนอกมักต้องการที่จะเปลี่ยนแปลง พวกเขาอยากเข้ามาในพื้นที่เพื่อ “แก้ไข” เพราะอย่างนั้น บางครั้งนักออกแบบภูมิทัศน์จะมองเห็นแต่ “ข้อเสีย” ของพื้นที่ ผู้อยู่อาศัยจะไม่ใช่อย่างนั้น เขาอยากจะรักษาสิ่งที่รักและคุ้นเคยให้ดีที่สุด และผมจะต้องเก็บความคิดนี้ไว้พิจารณา เมื่อถึงเวลาการออกแบบครั้งต่อไป

Leave a Reply

